Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

70.3 and swim-kick
Quote | Reply
OK Im a below average novice age group swimmer , my pool 100's are 2min -215 pace during workouts Ive built up my endurance swimming and doing my first 70.3 in May Santa Rosa
Im just looking to not finish in the bottom5-15percent i know lol
I noticed a lot of pros stop kicking at end of swims to save their legs
Based on my speed is it worth the effort of the kick vs the tiredness felt on the bike?
It feels like my kick in the water just tires my legs without making me a whole lot faster
Will this change as I progress in swimming Ive only been in the pool for two months and an adult onset
swimmer forgot to add im a string bean at 5'5 133lbs swimming with roka sim buoyancy trunks to keep my hips higher I know wetsuit will help tremendously too
Any feedback appreciated
Last edited by: smallhips: Dec 18, 19 17:30
Quote Reply
Re: 70.3 and swim-kick [smallhips] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
At that speed kicking is giving you very little, if any propulsion, and is more about balance (I would also say this to faster swimmers as well, IMO you get very little return on investment for kicking especially at the 70.3 distance). You are right, your kick most likely tires you out and provides no propulsion

My .02, and especially so with a wetsuit, is don't worry about it. If someone is kicking hard enough to cause tired legs on the bike they are kicking WAY too hard.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
For a 70.3 swim it's typical to use a gentle, 2-beat kick. It's not for propulsion, it's for better body position (even with a wetsuit) and to help drive the body rotation during your pull.

Personally, I wouldn't waste time on kick sets; but do work on having that 2-beat flutter kick vs. just letting your legs sit there (which will add stress to your core), and keep your toes pointed so your feet aren't acting like brake flaps on a plane wing.

ECMGN Therapy Silicon Valley: