Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
70.3 Lubbock, what to expect ?
Quote | Reply
never being in the area.
How's the race ? weather ? Wetsuit ? Hilly ?
It's one of the few 70.3s that is not sold out !
Thinking to go....
Quote Reply
Re: 70.3 Lubbock, what to expect ? [MTRIB] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply

Always hot, sunny and windy.

I have not done the event since it was relocated from Buffalo Springs Lake to downtown.

Until 1/2 Galveston came along this was my favorite event. I have completed it perhaps 15 times.

Once, I was fast. But I got over it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
The bike and run courses have just been released.

Looks like the bike has some elevation (593') but a trivial amount compared to the prior course. It's mainly an east/west course so I wouldn't be surprised to have a strong crosswind.

The run course loops around the Texas Tech campus. It looks like it's basically the same course I ran when I was a student 15 years ago. It will be absurdly flat. The map says 71' total. Drainage is a huge problem in the area because there isn't enough elevation change to move the water.

Expect the weather to be hot and windy.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You can expect to do the shell of what was once a great race/course. It was a very hard and honest course that I absolutely hated but could not stop doing. Now, it's a stock standard boring cookie-cutter Ironman course. The only plus is that the run course gets within 2 blocks of my house - that I lived in 25+ years ago.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
MTRIB wrote:
never being in the area.
Thinking to go....

Always a tough race due to the conditions. Hot, windy is a given. Wetsuit legal will be a coin flip.