Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

2 hold vs 3 hole cleat, do i need to replace all my pedals?
Quote | Reply
Ive been riding in the same shoes for about 6 years now. I got them when I got my first hybrid bike, then my road bike, and now I just used them for my first season on my tri bike.
here is the shoe. a basic mountain bike shoe.

I think I need a wider shoe, plus I think its just time to upgrade.

Since all three of my bikes have the same pedals, should I just look for another mountain bike shoe? Im looking for an all around shoe. I don't have the money to drop a few hundred on a few pairs of shoes, but I think I can go upto $300 on a single pair. Ive been looking at lake. Do I need to stay two hole or can I buy any shoe and just use one of these adapters?

any input would be appreciated.

not sure how to put the pitcures in the post. the first picture is my shoes i have now. second is the pedals, and the third is the adapter im talking about
Last edited by: jonp9576: Sep 28, 18 15:39
Quote Reply
Re: 2 hold vs 3 hole cleat, do i need to replace all my pedals? [jonp9576] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I would suggest that you buy some road pedals and road or tri shoes.
Quote Reply
Re: 2 hold vs 3 hole cleat, do i need to replace all my pedals? [jimatbeyond] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
This.

Pedals are cheap enough that the cost for all the bikes would be minimal.

Strava
Quote Reply
Re: 2 hold vs 3 hole cleat, do i need to replace all my pedals? [jonp9576] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I disagree with the others. If you aren’t doing flying mounts there’s no reason to buy tri shoes and it’s a hell of a lot easier to “run” through transition in mtb shoes. I would look at Bont and the New Giro VR 90 High Volume (HV) shoes. In the case of the Giros you can swap the laces for the elastic laces you’d typically use in your running shoes.
Quote Reply