Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

1st time training plan
Quote | Reply
Embarking on a HIM in 10 months time
Anything I've done before I've basically winged without a real training plan.

My job is very physical (climbing arborist) so I have a solid endurance base imop... never fast really but can keep going for hours when I get the right pace.

I'm planning the first 25 weeks / 6 months and was wondering if for things like the run which I'm no natural and bike that I have no experience at..should i focus on building the required distance (at the same time technique) first? e.g simply get to being able to run +21km without breaking myself before focusing on getting the speed up... which I figure I can work on in the last 3 / 4 months of training.
I'm already comfortable at more than race swim distance so that's going to be much more maintenance / reviver and technique focused over winter
Quote Reply
Re: 1st time training plan [skutter] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What are your goals? Are you aiming for completion as comfortably as possible, or trying to treat it as a race and go fast? What is your background in running and cycling -- e.g., what's the most miles you have run or biked in a year? Together, these should inform where you want to be at the end of the training cycle, and then you can plan backwards from there.

Whatever your goals, you need to get to the starting line first. Your biggest risks are probably injuring yourself during run or bike training. So build slowly and carefully, especially when it comes to running. Depending on how frequently you are able to train and how much you have run before, you might look up the BarryP run plan and get started there from a very low base run mileage. IF you haven't run much before, I'd suggest doing very little or no fast running, and certainly none to start off the training cycle.
Quote Reply
Re: 1st time training plan [twcronin] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply