Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
(some) Cops are not your friends
Quote | Reply
a warning to you when you're out on your bike, (some) cops are not your friends. and they will have no scruples about committing perjury to cover their ass. one hell of a story:

Road Rights: The Right to Disobey Cops
http://bicycling.com/...-583-19000-1,00.html

Where would you want to swim ?
Last edited by: GregX: Apr 24, 09 16:52
Quote Reply
Re: (some) Cops are not your friends [GregX] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm a cop. I'm your friend. Interesting story.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Good to see stuff like this get published.

In this war, we have to fight hard with all of the tools that we have available. In the vehicle code, there are so many laws and rules; that a motorist just turning on their engine, or a cyclist climbing aboard a pedaling device is breaking any number of laws/rules.

One of the things that we have to start doing is learning position techniques to force motorized traffic to obey the law. Of course this causes great anger, - but we have to do our part as well. One of things that I see most frequently is cyclists NOT taking up the whole lane when it is unsafe for a motorist to pass. This causes motorists to try to pass all cyclists whenever; and it is quite a dangerous precedent. As a Randonneur, and one who routinely does 24, 30, 40 hour rides, - I've seen a lot of bad, goofy, and downright unsafe behavior out there.

Apologies in advance if this is a rant or unrelated: but too often, - it's a point of frustration to see the police defending the motorist instead of the cyclist who is obeying the law.
Last edited by: Toenail: Apr 24, 09 9:29
Quote Reply
Re: (some) Cops are not your friends [beavertriathlon] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
i'd be even more pissed off if i was a cop.

cops like this are an embarrassment to the essentially honorable profession.

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply