Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
$100 to glue on tubular tires?
Quote | Reply
I'm new to tubies, but recently got myself some used H3 tubies.
I went ahead and bought some new low Crr tires (Vittoria's)
to replace the existing Conti's. I called my local bike shop thinking
that perhaps I should have a pro do the install instead of learning
to do it myself. They wanted $100 for the pair to glue on the tires.
That's nearly as much as I paid for the tires. Is that really the
going rate? Seems like it makes sense at that cost to figure out
how to do it myself (I've seen youtube how to install videos).
Anyone have any advice on this front? Is my local shop likely
to do a substantially better job than I will on my first try?
Quote Reply
Re: $100 to glue on tubular tires? [jbank] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
F**K no. Tell your LBS to suck your nut sack and eat shit. This is why LBS's have the general reputation of being a waste of money. Are you in Florida by chance?

The Zipp video on youtube is a great one. Some people vary how many coats and I do not believe there is a steadfast rule. I do 3 and 1, but it's not the law. The only real difference is if you want them sewn up 'easy off' style so you can strip it on the side of the road or old school. I'm of the old school with lowest crr possible.

Aluminum acid brushes at the local hardware store, Mastik One and you are on your way.

Do me a favor, tell your LBS to eat MY ass hole while you are at it. $100?? ftw

Last edited by: tigerpaws: May 7, 11 9:37
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply