Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
$160 for bike on plane?
Quote | Reply
I've got a race this weekend in Seattle and I'll be flying from CA with my bike- thought it wouldn't cost anything to bring it along in my super durable bike case, but NWA states "$80 each way" to bring a bike (no matter how it is packaged) on the flight. Since when did they start charging for this? So much for the free flight that I used my frequent flyer miles for...any creative ideas on how to dodge this charge? Never flown with my bike before...
Quote Reply
Re: $160 for bike on plane? [PNWTSUT13] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Nothing new. I've been traveling to races for about 6 years and have had to pay almost every time. $160 round trip is pretty much the standard on the airlines I fly most (Delta and Northwest), but some are even higher. I've paid as high as $220 for domestic and $300 for FL-S America and back. For the times I got out of paying, here were the circumstances:

--Curbside check-in (when that was still applicable)

--Pick the least intelligent attendant or one that's in a really good mood. After claiming you'll be checking 2 bags at an electronic kiosk, hope they don't catch on that one of them is bigger and just saunter through their job like a bored zombie (Obviously, don't select 3 pieces of checked luggage at the kiosk or that will definitely set off flags for extra charges.)

--Once, the attendant didn't know it was a bike case and asked what was inside. I told her it was art. She tagged it and went on her way. That's not really a lie...I think it's art no matter what she thought.

One last piece of advice. At most airports now, they'll open the case and search the interior. Bike boxes are not always the easiest to close, so if that involves a 250 lb security guy sitting on it until something gives, then that's what might happen. I would stay with your bike till it gets through security if possible.

There's my .02.