Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

"Uh Oh. I sound like those guys on slowtwitch." (race report)
Quote | Reply
I did the Galena duathlon this weekend. In the past the Galena triathlon has had some really cold swims that either get cancelled or shortened because the water is so cold. I hate cold water and didn't want to have to worry about the possibility of a tri turning into a du so decided just to go ahead and sign up for the du. Turns out it was perfect day and the water wasn't bad - oh well.

So the du started after all the triathletes had started (and I believe most had finished) the swim. It was a 2 mile out and back loop that was crazy hilly. I had no idea if I should take it easy on the first run or go all out as this was the first du I've ever done and the shortest race I've ever done. I've never done a sprint before, my strength being sticking to a pace over longer distances. So I'm in the first wave of woman and I start toward the front and I decide I'm just going to go for it. We take off and this woman jumps to the front. From the back she appears to have very strange form and I decide there's no way she can keep that speed up with that form (I was wrong) and I go with her. So we fly up and down hills passing men in earlier waves and I try sticking with her and we put some distance on the other women but she is slowly building a lead. She probably had 50 yards on me when we came into T1. My time for the first 2 miles was 12:14 and I thought I was going to barf when I got to my bike. So onto the bike and now we run into all of the BOP bikers. Typically I read people on slowtwitch complaining about slow people way too far to the left and weaving all over the road and I think, "Stupid elitists. Everyone has to start someplace and just say on your left and go around them." However, I did not feel this way trying to get around these people on Saturday. I wanted to catch the woman in front of me (I didn't). People were all