Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
"Pull up" on the aero bars. Huh?
Quote | Reply
So I was talking to a LBS about the differences between the zipp aluminum and carbon aero bars and he said if I don't "pull up" on them, the carbon should be fine.

I have been doing Tri's for only about 3 years but I have no clue what he is referring to in Pulling up.

Someone help me out.

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: "Pull up" on the aero bars. Huh? [Yellek3] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Correction- he said the Aluminum should be fine. Not carbon
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Pull up on the aero bars in order to gain leverage I guess is what he means.

Find out what it is in life that you don't do well, then don't
do that thing.
Quote Reply
Re: "Pull up" on the aero bars. Huh? [pattersonpaul] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ok thanks!. That seemed simple enough. Wasn't sure of their was something else I was missing!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
i pull so hard in TT's that my abs will be sore later.
Quote Reply
Re: "Pull up" on the aero bars. Huh? [sickness] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Would this really be an issue with aluminum bars?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
look up Lemond in the 1989 tour final TT. He was pulling so hard on the bars for leverage he nearly broke them off.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Yellek3 wrote:
Would this really be an issue with aluminum bars?

no, that part makes no sense. I use aluminum bars and would think if anything
carbon bars would be more prone to fail than al.

do that thing.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
sickness wrote:

So do I. I just don't have the mass and leverage from long legs.

It's like I'm doing curls during my threshold intervals just to keep me in the saddle.

jaretj
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply