Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

"Active Desk" a cycling computer workstation
Quote | Reply
Hello All:
As some of you know, I have been developing an integrated recumbent exercise bike and computer workstation or "Active Desk". I posted it here a while back and got a very mixed response. Since then it has shaped up a bit and we hope to take it commercial very soon. To help with that, we have just started a cloud funding campaign on RocketHub. http://www.rockethub.com/...ts/12721-active-desk In addition to the actual funding, this campaign will also serve to test the market response.
I have been using various prototypes of Active Desk since June of 2011 and have averaged well over 700 kcal/day in addition to training. The cloud funding campaign is commercial only in a sort of vague way so I hope I haven't violated any Slowtwitch rule with this posting.
Cheers,
Jim
Quote Reply
Re: "Active Desk" a cycling computer workstation [Bio_McGeek] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Interesting idea, but the posture shown in the video isn't very good. Elbows look high and not looking at the monitor straight on. I wouldn't be interested personally but good on you for trying to come up with a novel idea
Quote Reply
Re: "Active Desk" a cycling computer workstation [dado0583] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Yes, the desk must be high in order to clear your knees. That's why the keyboard tray provides support for the elbows, so your traps don't get tight. I've been using prototypes for a year and a half with no use issues. The short cranks help get the height down by giving a smaller range of motion. Not looking at the monitor straight on was for the video shoot only. They wanted to be able to see his face when he walked in and sat down.
We shall see if it flies.
Cheers,
Jim

dado0583 wrote: