Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

!@#$% Migraine!
Quote | Reply
Yesterday, I was getting ready to take my first "long" bike ride of the season (which would probably be barely a warmup to most of you, but I'm a newbie) and I started getting a small headache. I ignored it. My sister arrived with her bike and we started riding. The headache gradually got worse and focused on the right side of my head. I kept going because the terrain was relatively flat, my legs were feeling great, and my son was making happy noises in the baby trailer. Half an hour into the ride, I realized that the headache was a migraine and I'd have to turn around immediately if I wanted to get home under my own power. (Calling my husband for a ride home wasn't an option because his car isn't big enough to carry the baby trailer and my bike while the carseat is installed.) When we got home, I went straight to bed and my sister babysat until my husband finished some yardwork.

The only thing I can think of that might have caused that migraine is that I'd just gotten out the latex swim cap from my first tri and I'd put it on for a while for my son's amusement. ("See Mommy's funny hat?") The only other time I wore a latex cap was at the race where I received it, and I got a migraine on the bike leg of that race. I've had mild headaches correlated with getting accustomed to a lycra cap, so I suppose I'll need to keep using that nasty latex cap until I'm not getting headaches. It's probably a good thing I'm finding out about this relatively early in the season...

"Real winners aren't content with yesterday's victories"
Quote Reply
Re: !@#$% Migraine! [SaraJean] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Welcome to my world. I was just chatting with a fellow tri(girl) last night about our migraine issues. Both of us have them at least once per week, mine can last up to 2 weeks at a time.