Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

tigerchik need info
Quote | Reply
Tigerchik,
One of my students wants to go to college in Maine. I tried to remember which university you went to, but it has escaped me and I cannot find in by searching. She would like to Bowdoin (sp?). Do you know anything about it or the city? She wants to be an Art History Major. Any information you may have would be more than I have here.
Dan

When it's good, it's good. When it's bad, you suffer.
Dan
Quote Reply
Re: tigerchik need info [WryMouth] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Bowdoin was one of my top choices a LONG time ago. I don't remember much about it, but I loved that school and really wanted to go there. It just ended up being way to expensive for me.

Had a handful of high school friends who did go there, from central ohio. Visited a couple times. good times.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I did a summer internship at Bowdoin, I wasn't a student there so I'm not an expert on the school. Brunswick is a small town, maybe a half hour drive from Portland. I felt safe there (Im from Chicago). But like everywhere else, there are some shady areas. The campus is small with older buildings (really nice pool, though!). There's Maine Street, about a mile or so from campus, with a nice grocery store that sells great organic produce. I didn't stay in the dorms, so I can't say what those are like. If she is hanging around campus, she wouldn't need a car.... unless she wanted to go to Portland or Freeport.

As a student there, she would definitely be in the college "bubble." I loved my summer there, but I had a car/bike and I was all over the place. At least she would have easy access to some great Lobster rolls and Gelato! :)

Good luck to her!!
Jen
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply