Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

indoor training...
Quote | Reply
hello all,

i'm a traithlon newbie, and completely addicted to my new triathlete lifestyle (and to slowtwitch!) i live in chicago and have been doing all of my training at the gym due to our crazy cold weather. a friend told me to always run at a 2% inclince on the treadmill to simulate the effort of running outdoors. is this effective? also, any tips for indoor training to, hopefully, make the transition to running and riding outdoors less of a change?

also, im sure it's been discussed before, but can someone direct me to a thread for different competition clothing options?

thanks so much
-allegra
Quote Reply
Re: indoor training... [allegra] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hi Allegra Welcome! I've never had a problem going from indoor workouts to outdoor workouts. When the weather gets nice you may want to start with one to two runs outside/week and wean yourself off the indoor runs week by week. http://www.hillrunner.com/training/tmillchart.php This will help with treadmill conversions.

As far as clothes go DeSoto is my favorite!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I always run by perceived exertion, so I don't worry about the incline on my t/m. I just run at the right pace for the zone I want to be in. If it's too easy, then I make it faster. I only use the incline when I want to work on hills.

The only problem I have with adjusting to outside running after a winter indoors is that my legs get really sore for the first week or so. The outside run has more pounding on my legs, so it just takes two or three runs to get over that. I usually find I'm faster outdoors than on the t/m because it's just so damn boring!!