Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

getting back to it
Quote | Reply
I have had some hip/back/pelvic floor issues that have kept me on the sidelines for nearly three years. I'd like to get back to a regular routine and hopefully back into triathlon. I am out of shape and very de-conditioned. Any advice for someone in their mid-40s looking to get back? Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: getting back to it [littlenorm] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hi, this is my first post!

I'm afraid I don't have a lot of advice for you, but I just wanted to say that I'm looking for similar advice/motivation. As my handle says, I'm new to triathlon. I'm almost 40 and haven't been terribly sporty as an adult. Part of the reason for that is that I keep getting niggling injuries (patellofemoral issues, shoulder impingement, hip flexor problems, etc...) I was a really enthusiastic endurance swimmer as a kid, but I quit early in high school and I've been biking and running occasionally, but I just haven't figured it out since then.

For a year, I've been going to an orthopedic doctor, PT, and a trainer to get my body together before I get much older, and now I really want to do a sport and I really want it to be triathlon. It combines all three of the sports I love and I think the cross training will be good for my body. But I keep navigating niggling knee, should, and hip issues. My local tri club seems great, but they're a little bro-centric, and they hang out in bars. That's just not my scene. Online stuff, even like looking on bike company websites for my bikes and the slowtwitch forum are also really male centric and off putting.