Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

genuinely friendly suggestion for animal phobias
Quote | Reply
On the tails of the snake threads... (pun intended)
Disclaimer: I am a veterinarian and my 2.5 acre property is Wildlife Habitat certified thru Oklahoma Dept of Wildlife's non-game division. You take steps to plant wildlife friendly plants, provide cover and water and food sources and limit chemical use. So that is my leaning on this issue that has reared its head here in The Womens (pun also intended).

I grew up in Houston and was always grossed out by the HUGE coockroaches we had to deal with down there (they'd fly across the room sometimes, and I once had one crawl across my face because it was on my hairbrush (I did not know that at the time). When I went to brush my hair, it took the express route across my face. MAJOR freak-out. Nor did I relish finding a 3 cm long cockroach in my panties one morning as I picked them up to put them on. (yes we had exterminators... roaches will inherit the earth, I imagine, they are that tough)

So I can see how some critters gross some people out.

Here's what I did as a teenager about this mild phobia: I got books (field guides) on insects, snakes, and so forth and learned more about them. It helped me "understand" them. I am currently reading Parasite Rex about the fascinating lifecycles of the parasite world (Yes I would kill parsites in myself or family. I'm not THAT weird!)

So, read up on snakes and spiders (altho they are not an insect-- they're arachnids-- they are in most insect field guide books) and you may be less freaked out by them. Hopefully you'll be fascinated and more understanding of them.

I ended up getting a zoology degree and then my DVM. I have a turtle tattoo. I thought about a snake one, maybe a pretty corn snake, but thought about people's revulsion to snakes in general with its historical and cultural baggage.