Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Yikes! I've gained so much weight!
Quote | Reply
Help! Would love to hear your personal stories.
I am new to triathlon and have ramped up my training to an average of 1-2 hrs of hard work a day.
Unfortunately, I am ravenously hungry and have gained 10 pounds! OK, some is muscle, but definitely not all!
Suddenly I'm stocky. :(
I eat all the right foods, believe me-- but just too much.

Anyone experience this? I'd love to hear how you delt with it.
--OK I'm off to find a carrot---

Thanks!
-Marianne
Quote Reply
Re: Yikes! I've gained so much weight! [mzappella] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
This might have happened. You mentioned you 'ramped up' training.
Whenever I have an increase in training time, I am super hungry all the time for a week or two. Then it levels out and it's 'back to normal'.
That might be what happened to you.
You could also use a fitness tracker to re-train yourself on how much food is appropriate until you get the hang of it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Tracking food is a PITA - but it works. I like the "lose it" app.

Make sure that you underestimate your calories burned from exercise - most calculators are on the high side.

I'm always up for eating, even when I'm not training lots - it can be tough at times.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I am the same weight as I was last year at this time but my body has changed a LOT due to the increase in training. While I do have some more fat to lose, I am waiting until after Nationals to get serious about that. My best advice would be to just eat real food. Snack on fruit, vegetables, chicken, yogurt.... it does help to have some protein with each meal too. I will boil up a bunch of eggs and just have them with me at the office to eat along with a salad or oatmeal.

And yes, I track everything - even when I eat crap or drink wine!

Patti

Patti in NJ
Quote Reply
Re: Yikes! I've gained so much weight! [PattiTris] [ In reply to ]