Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
What do you wear under a skirt?
Quote | Reply
Strange question but you all are good at answering strange questions :-)

Now that I'm striking out on my own as a consultant I need to start attending networking events and work on getting clients. So I need to stop dressing like a slob. I used to get away with jeans every day so my dress work wardrobe needs help. I've got some great skirts that are super comfy but I came across a dilemma when going for an interview a month ago. My legs are pasty white and have bruises from who knows what I ran into. Do you all wear regular panty hose? Or, do you use a self tanner to get some color? I know pantyhose are out of fashion and I don't want to set myself up to look like I'm stuck in the 50s. I'm going to be working with small businesses and some of them will be more impressed with a consultant that dresses more in line with current styles. A few pairs of dress pants are also on the list of things I need.

Thanks ladies. I'm so used to working at home or in an informal office I'm a bit stuck :-)

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Jen

"In order to keep a true perspective on one's importance, everyone should have a dog that worships him and a cat that will ignore him." - Dereke Bruce
Quote Reply
Re: What do you wear under a skirt? [JenHS] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Panty hose are out of style??? hmmmm, that explains a lot!

I work at home too but it seems to me that when I go out to business meetings, that women seem to be wearing pant suits quite a bit more than skirts now.

I'm an accountant, so I probably dress up/more conservatively than a consultant could get away with but even my colleagues are more into pants than skirts now.

A really formal look would probably turn off a small business owner.