Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Training Plan Help!
Quote | Reply
Hi. I'm completely new to this. I did a sprint tri last summer and trained completely wrong for it. I went hard all the time, did the tri on tired legs and still had fun! So, I'm back at it this year to train better and see if I can improve my times. I was a leisurely runner before the tri and I like to run. I'm not fast, but I like to make gains in my speed and overall fitness. I did end up achieving my goal time, which was 1:45 (15swim/55bike/30run).

Long story short, I have been using a 19 week 80/20 endurance plan with HR bike and power run. I haven't started swimming yet because I can't fit it in right now. I am planning to add it next week. I started the plan in January and I generally do about 3 - 4 hours of bike time and 2 - 3 hours of running per week on this new plan and I feel like I am making gains. My legs sometimes feel tired after a workout, but not like they did last year, all the time.

So, my plan ends in May. My tri is in July. I only did the one tri last year. What do I do? Go back and adjust dates and do a new timed run to keep making gains? Or find a tri that is in April/May and do 2 tris this year?

Any advice is helpful! And not sure what, if anything, I put in my signature.

~kea
Quote Reply
Re: Training Plan Help! [keakathleen] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If your goal is to keep improving and have some fun along the way, I vote for an April/May race. That will be a good gauge for where you are at, and you can use that excitement to build for the July race.

If you can't find another tri, a local 5km or 10km running race could be fun too.
Quote Reply
Re: Training Plan Help! [edbikebabe] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply