Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Swimming Scared
Quote | Reply
I have never done a triathlon before. I signed up for a half ironman and have nine weeks to train for it. I can easily complete the bike; of course running 13.1 miles after that might prove a bit tricky. My main concern though is the swim! Right now I can swim 50m without stopping. I don't stop for too long but at least ten seconds. My longest swim has been 600m. I do have a personal swim coach.

Tonight my husband let me know that he has doubts about me being ready for the swim. He has been strongly encouraging and he's an experienced IM has finished 4 full IM and at least 6 HIM so I really trust his advice. His doubts are freaking me out though.

Anybody want to comment on my chances of being able to finish the HIM with only 9 weeks to train at my current level?

Nor do I use punctuation in the way a child sprinkles glitter over a ribbon of glue on construction paper - Trash Talk
Quote Reply
Re: Swimming Scared [lesson989] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Can you talk/ask your swim coach for advice?? Is it a wetsuit swim?? How often are you swimming and what is the duration/meters of each swim? Can you swim 3-4x/week? Was your 600m swim continuous?

The swimmers on this forum will probably chime in with some really good advice on how to build up. I think you have time to build up if you can get to the pool 3-4 x's/week until the race. I would do one swim/week continuous and build up to 2500 straight.

If you get swim workouts in a binder you can follow the plan in there.

Good luck!!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I think you'll be able to get through it. Talk to your swim coach... and make sure you get practice in open water before your race.

maybe she's born with it, maybe it's chlorine
If you're injured and need some sympathy, PM me and I'm very happy to write back.
disclaimer: PhD not MD
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply