Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Sprint to 70.3
Quote | Reply
Hi
I'm from a background of 22 yrs fitness 66% of the time... Skiing then yoga etcetera then running for 5 yrs half marathons (3) in 2010
Then I got lazy again
This year I started training for a couple of late sprint tri's. then injured now back to where i was in summer.
I now swim 750 x2 run 5and 7 miles and bike 16 3x, strength 2x 30 mins.
I'm now pretty overweight and can't really see that changing. I'm 40 in October and F.
Time is not much of an issue. My weight might be with long-term over use injuries, So I don't really know where to pitch my training. I want to do as much as I can injury free.

My question would be what should your base be like before a half iron man? Assuming a 20 week training plan?

I have signed up for a half marathon in April, a Sprint in May bicycle ride of 60 miles in August and an Olympic distance in October

Does that all sounds sensible? And is 70.3 possible the year after.
I can't do more than 3.8 mi in 21 mins on a rolling circuit (go 4x round ATM.

I'm not fast. My swim is 1min for 25 m freestyle consistent and I can run 5 mi in 50 mins
Quote Reply
Re: Sprint to 70.3 [CloudDog] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It sounds like you've got some big goals, cool :)

A 70.3 is totally possible, but focus on the oly first. Get through that and evaluate that experience before signing up for a 70.3. From what you've just wrote, it sounds to me like staying injury free and being consistent will be key.