Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Seats for road bike
Quote | Reply
Hello! I have a road bike, specifically a Specialized. I am a newbie to the sport, but I really like the bike. However, after 1/2 hour on the seat, my butt feels as though it could actually fall off it's so numb. Any seat recommendations?

For reference, my current seat says, "Dolce" on the side and looks similar to this seat from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/...s=gateway&sr=8-5

~ kea
Quote Reply
Re: Seats for road bike [keakathleen] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Saddles are very personal; that said, I'm on a Specialized Oura in 155 on my road bike. I don't know where you're based but some cycle shops allow you to take home different tester saddles to see what works for you. If you search "saddle" in this forum you'll also see a wide range of saddle experiences.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Hi there!

One of two things is happening:

1. The saddle isn't right for you, and you should probably get a body geometry fit to see what would be the right saddle for you
2. You haven't spent enough time in the saddle to be "conditioned" to it yet.

The Dolce is a sweet bike (pun intended!), and I really like Specialized saddles. But that's me, and everyone's seat profile is going to be different *and* also change over time. I think no matter what, it's worth a trip to a local bike shop after you've put about 100-200 miles of riding in and get the bike looked over once it's "broken in", and also get a fitting done. Specialized's body geometry fit includes a trip to the "ass-o-meter", which measures your sits bone points to see where you should be putting pressure on the saddle.

Level II USAT Coach | Level 3 USAC Coach | NASM-CPT
Team Zoot | Tailwind Trailblazer
I can tell you why you're sick, I just can't write you an Rx
Quote Reply
Re: Seats for road bike [Dr_Cupcake] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply