Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Saddle Story
Quote | Reply
I thought I'd post this here, just in case it helps anyone in their quest for saddle comfort.

I've been riding road bikes for over 20 years, and my favorite road saddles are wide, flat, and hard. My current favorite that I have on my road bike, my commuter, and my folding bike is the Nashbar FS1.

I started experimenting with TT saddles and my TT position 1.5 ears ago. I ride 20 - 50 mpw and race sprints and olys. Here are the saddles I have tried. All trials included several weeks of experimenting, adjustments in angle, fore-aft, and seat height, as well as zip tying rails together:

1. ISM Adamo Typhoon. I got it because it was the widest available, and I thought I needed a wide TT saddle (because I have always liked a wide road saddle. Very padded. With any length ride however, the rails felt too wide and I had chafing in the groin and bruising of the thigh adductor insertions. Pros: very plush, feels good at first. Cons: too wide up front, too much padding, too short.

2. Specialized Sitero. I liked this one quite a bit. Firm, flat. My Chinese frame has the seat post quite far back, and I found that the Sitero's saddle rails are too short and do not allow a far enough forward placement. I found it easy to find a comfortable position due to the triangular shape of the saddle, and Iiked the firmness. Pros: comfort, firmness. Cons: rails too short.

3. Fizik Tritone. I got this because it had long rails. But that turned out to be it only positive. It was too narrow on the top of it, and very curved top caused most of the saddle be in between the pelvic/seat bones, causing soft tissue compression and discomfort. Also the seating surface is very very short, and does not allow for much moving around while riding. This was the most painful saddle I have tried. Pros: long rails, firmness. Cons: very very painful, narrow, curved surface.