Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Opening Page Article on Ascending
Quote | Reply
Hello ladies.... anyone want to discuss this?

Biking is, by far, my limiter. I have been working very hard to improve, and I accept that it may never be my strong point.

However, I do in fact enjoy ascending....I have noticed that when I ride in groups, I get dropped less on the ascent. The longer the ascent, the more likely I can keep up. (most likely to be dropped on downhills, seconds most, flats). I was curious about the mention of gearing down. The author speaks as if we all have these extra gears handy that we'd prefer not to use. What happens if you are so wimpy there *is no gear soft enough for you to keep a cadence?

I find myself often times using my lowest gear just to be able to continue pedaling in hilly terrain. Last year I started riding some hillier terrain and I had my 25 switched to a 27. However, I still found myself on some hills, doing 45 rpms and barely hanging on. I get really scared that one day I am going to be faced with a grade that I just can't do, and I will topple over. :-/

Any tips? Thanks.
Last edited by: WeRide: Mar 3, 08 9:59
Quote Reply
Re: Opening Page Article on Ascending [WeRide] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've toppled. I'm not a climber, hills are my enemy and I get dropped like a rock on hills if I'm with a group. My best climbing year I had a coach and did a lot of drills on the trainer, single leg, tempo, sprints. I was amazingly stonger that year. My plan is to try and embrace hills this year and do lots of repeaters.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I have no tips, but it always cracks me up when people say -- "yeah, just gear down and spin up that hill." They make it sound so easy; no problem at all. In reality, there are very few hills I'm able to "spin" up.
Quote Reply
Re: Opening Page Article on Ascending [AmyCO] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply