Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
My IMAZ race report
Quote | Reply
It's a little long...

I signed up for IMAZ last summer with the goal of getting back in shape after being riddled with injuries and not working out for about 2 months. I started training from scratch....barely finishing a 3 mile run in over 30 minutes on July 1, 2007. I wanted to beat my IM Florida 2006 time of 12:19. I honestly didn't know if I had enough time to get there.

In November I set a goal of under 11 hours. It was something to train for, but I didn't think I could do it. My other race goals were to get down to my ideal running weight (meant losing about 40 lbs), a 1 hour swim, and a 4 hour marathon. I thought I had a 95% chance getting the swim, and about 50% at getting the rest of my goals.

About a month before the race, when I realized my race goals were in reach, I looked at past results and realized that if I met my goals, I might be in contention for a Kona slot. While not a goal of mine to do Kona this year, because it's already been a long season for me, I would take the slot if I got one.

On Sunday morning before I left the house I was feeling fine. As soon as we got in the car and got down the street someone asked if we all had our wetsuits. We had to go back, I had forgotten mine. I had lost focus about a week before and was completely scatter brained all week, leaving my registration packet at the expo and not realizing it was even missing until I got a call from a friend who said they were paging me and he picked it up for me. This and the fact that I wasn't nervous sort of worried me. But maybe it was a good thing.