Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Itching Skin in the winter
Quote | Reply
Ok, since I started training again, my skin is itching like crazy. Mainly my back and my legs. I saw a dermatologist last month and got some cream (helps a little)but really I wonder why. It is MUCH worse when I am in Arizona or come back from Arizona. I know it's dryer there but still. I am swimming 3 times a week but this is not necessarily linked to swimming but definitely irritated by it. Does anyone else go nuts like this in the winter? What do you do?
Last edited by: Marisol: Feb 12, 11 21:24
Quote Reply
Re: Itching Skin in the winter [Marisol] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What are they putting in the pool (chlorine vs. bromine)? Make sure you are really showering w/soap esp on your back post swim...

I get this every time there is a cold/dry spell here. So you're not alone...

AP

------------------------
"How bad could it be?" - SimpleS
Quote Reply
Re: Itching Skin in the winter [AndyPants] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Me too. A couple of things I've learned:
--wash immediately after coming out of the pool; if you're doubling up workouts, do the swim last or plan on a rinse before moving on to the next one
--use a moisturizing soap (not the stuff in the shower dispensers); I've found Dove is the best of the low cost options (and I love it that Santa brings me some really nice fancy soaps every year for Xmas!)
--luke warm or cool showers, not hot
--pat dry, don't rub dry
--after patting dry, immediately apply moisturizer

No coasting in running and no crying in baseball
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I have to put lotion on every day after every workout in the winter. Mine doesn't get itchy, just dry.

maybe she's born with it, maybe it's chlorine
If you're injured and need some sympathy, PM me and I'm very happy to write back.
disclaimer: PhD not MD
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply