Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
IM and Weight Gain
Quote | Reply
Hello All - I am looking for a little advice/perspective on training and weight gain. I started training for my first Ironman 9 weeks ago and have gained 3 pounds already. I don't feel like I am eating any more than normal. In fact, I have been better about getting nutrients and cutting out junk. While my workouts have increased, they are not overly extensive yet (I was training consistently before the IM program stared). I have added light weightlifting but it is pretty minimal & only 2 times a week. I am 5'7 and and weighed 137 consistently for the past year but am now up to 140. This is particularly unnerving because I struggled with my weight for much of my adolescence. I lost about 70 pounds between the ages of 20 and 25 and have maintained a healthy weight for the past 8 years. Has anyone experience this? Any thoughts on what I should do? I did not expect to lose weight while training for the IM but I also did not expect to gain.
Quote Reply
Re: IM and Weight Gain [RoseC] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Yep, I'm with you. I gained 6 training for my first, and have yet to lose it. And it's not all muscle, some is fat. My %age went up about a point. Some is muscle, of course, but not all of it.

I think it's the woman-curse. Our bodies saying "Oh shit, what's she going to do to us tomorrow? I better hold on to some more fat for that baby" - you know, the one our brains know we're not having any time soon.

I think it'll stabilize, just be careful to not use the training as an excuse to eat crap (like me and my cadbury eggs) and it will likely put you at whatever a healthy race weight is for you.

Good luck with your first IM!

rachel
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply