Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

HR monitors and sports bras
Quote | Reply
    Hi all. First I want to say I'm a newbie, so forgive me if this is a silly question or if it has already been covered. I was wondering how you all work the heart rate monitor with the sports bras. I find that if I tuck mine under the band, I feel like I can't breathe-too constricting. But I also find that if I put it just below the band, it tends to slip down on my run. If I tighten it, again, I feel like I'm having a tough time inhaling. I usually wear 2 sports bras BTW (36B/C). And I'm currently using the polar s625x. Thanks for any input.
Quote Reply
Re: HR monitors and sports bras [rockykito] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hi there, I'm also a 625X user and I found that I had to play around a bit to find ideal strap placement for it. I don't wear two sports bras, but I do have a sunken ribcage to further complicate the whole process. I've had good luck tucking it right above the jog bra strap, which then sort of holds it in place while still allowing me to breathe. There's also a "conducting gel" I use with it to help it pick up the HRM's signal (I can't remember what it's called, something like Ba-bump -- I know, terrible name...) The gel definitely helped me get a signal with the thing...

M

------------------------------------------------------------
The beatings will continue until morale improves
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Sugoi makes some bras that have an inner bra and then an outer bra. The outer layer is a bit longer and it works great at holding the HRM in place (and you don't look like a dork because it's hidden)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Polar sells a special sportsbra with a channel that holds the strap built into it. Don't know if it works with the newer T-61 strap though.

http://www.heartratemonitors.com/sportbra.htm

Dave Stark
dreamcatcher@astound.net
USAC & USAT level 2 certified coach
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply