Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

HRM/GPS recommendation
Quote | Reply
I'm considering buying a new HRM/GPS monitor. I have never used a GPS type monitor before.

I would like the device to:

1. tell me my pace in real time;
2. give me my HR in real time;
3. if possible, have a two position time - ie. I can program it to beep after 5 minutes, then after 2 minutes.

I'd love to hear suggestions.

Thanks.

Tri Hard !
Quote Reply
Re: HRM/GPS recommendation [Bing] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Is this for biking and running, or just running?

I use my Garmin 405 for running and biking (just switch between sport modes), and like that the 405 can pick up my cadence etc. But, I wish the battery was longer and the watch a bit sturdier overall. Battery life is 8-10hrs I believe, I have found in the 7-8hr range. It is not a waterproof watch so you can't wear it swimming.

I want a 310xt, for the longer battery life. It's also waterproof. Me, my mom and his family went in on a 310xt for a xmas present for the bf, and I'm planning on stealing it for certain long stuff! That or getting my own.
Quote Reply
Re: HRM/GPS recommendation [Teags] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Right now just running, but likely will use cylcing come warmer weather.

Good thought on waterproof - I run in rain and snow, so that will be an issue !

Tri Hard !
Quote Reply
Re: HRM/GPS recommendation [Bing] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have the Garmin 305 and haven't had any problems with it. I think that you'd be fine running in rain/snow - I know that I've been through several downpours with mine. Although the newer model is waterproof, I've heard that the GPS doesn't work well in water. Additionally, I haven't actually found a HRM that will work while swimming. I could be wrong about this one - but, I think that there is something with the chest strap and/or the communication between the devices. Not sure though.