Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Garmin 305 and IM racing
Quote | Reply
Has anyone used the Garmin 305 in an IM on the run? I'm quite sure it's not waterproof so you could have it on through the swim. Do you turn it on before the race and let it sync up with satellites then put it on during T2? or do you turn it on at T2 and wait for it sync with the satellites? or do you put it on in T1 and let it find the satellite signal while you're on the bike?
I know these are pretty anal-retentive questions, but I just started training with a Garmin this season because I have no sense of run pace. I know there's an aid station approximately every mile on the run in an IM and I could estimate my pace that way, but since I'm training with the Garmin it would be a nice crutch to have during the race.
Quote Reply
Re: Garmin 305 and IM racing [kitboo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I haven't ... yet. But, like you, I'm giving some thought to what I'm going to do. I think I'll just turn it on in T2. Mine seems to take FOREVER to sync, but I think it's really no more than 2 minutes at most. So I won't have data for the first couple of minutes of the run ... I can live with that. I'm too impatient to wait for the thing to sync before heading out on my runs now. If I had data from start to finish, my head would probably explode!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply