Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

First Race Tomorrow
Quote | Reply
Hi Girls,
I am doing my first multi-sport race tomorrow, the Orange County Duathlon. Whew! I am looking forward to the challenge but am of course nervous. Do you all have any advice, or things I should think about out there? I am new to transitions, and running after biking. I am sure I will learn a lot out there! Anyhow, I would appreciate your insight and any experiences that you think may help me.
Mtngirl
Quote Reply
Re: First Race Tomorrow [mtngirl] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Good luck tomorrow mtngirl! Make sure you have all your stuff packed, then check again, and again. Nothing like forgetting your racing shoes to piss you off.

My opinion for your first race is HAVE FUN!!! Don't sweat the small stuff and enjoy the atmosphere. Race your race and not anyone else's. Your legs are going to feel mighty funny after biking, but just keep them moving and they'll recover. Not sure of the length of the race, but keep your nutrition and hydration in mind. Du's are a lot of fun... I think you'll really enjoy it, and then you'll get hooked on multisport!

I look forward to a race report!

Come crawling faster
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Make sure to give your bike a short spin/ride morning of, or night before, just to make sure every thing's in order and working well.

Edit: Oh since this will be your first off the bike run, start slow and easy. It will feel like sh*t, don't think about your legs or your speed, just focus on your breathing and get into a rhythm. After the first mile, your legs will loosen up. Then you can put the gas on ;-)

------------------------
"How bad could it be?" - SimpleS
Last edited by: AndyPants: Mar 7, 08 9:54
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply