Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Double Standards Bike Store Rant [lindsayonthego] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Sorry to hear you had such a bad experience at three different shops. Do you have friends in women's cycling in your area? Can they recommend anyplace else? I'm in NY, my shop is awesome. Supports our local women's cycling team too.

Quote Reply
Re: Double Standards Bike Store Rant [avatar78] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Bike shops live and die on service and it's sad to hear some of these stories. I worked in a shop when WSD was coming out and it was very hyped by the bike companies as a blow AGAINST discrimination of women, who always were stuck with ill fitting bikes. It is unfortunate that pink and lower end components are part of this, as opposed to only geometry and different sized components. Most all the employee training is from company reps, so they're probably just acting on what they heard from the reps, not that that's an excuse. Hopefully it moves more from men vs women sizing to whatever fits best, as mentioned above.

PS. Just for future reference it's 49cm, not 49"

Yep, got it. :)
Quote Reply
Re: Double Standards Bike Store Rant [jen-g] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Out of my friends, I'm the most into cycling. My S.O.'s cycling team is co-ed. I've talked with the ladies on the team about my experiences and asked where they go. The "team" shop is where the guy showed me the women's bikes in the catalog even after discussing my preferences. Again, to be fair, they didn't really have anything close to my size to try, and he could have assumed that I had a typical women's geometry. I ended up getting my bike (still waiting for it to come in) through them.