Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Changing Tire question
Quote | Reply
I have an embaressing question...So I hosted this great bike clinic last feb. on how to change a tire in 5 minutes. Everyone did great but me. I have a horrible time getting my tire off and on. I went to my local shop where I bought my tires about 9 mos ago and he tells me that my tires called "Continental Force Grand Prix" are extremely difficult to get off and that my only choice was to wait until they wear out and get an easier set to change. I was bummed since I bought these there not long ago. The men I know can change my tire easily but I hate to say I don't have the hand strength to change these. I asked the shop if they had more heavy duty tire irons to help but he mentioned I could bend my rim that way....so now....every time I ride I have to have a back up in case I flat that someone will come help me- ridiculous and totally humiliating....does anyone have any suggestions besides pump a bunch more iron to get stronger. Has anyone heard of these tires? Thanks for any input

COtrimom

Quote Reply
Re: Changing Tire question [COTrimom] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Pedros make outstanding tire levers. Start there. If you haven't got the strength to get your tires off by hand, then you won't bend any rims and Actually, no one should be able to bend rims when they use a tire lever.
What kind of wheels are you riding? After you get the tires off maybe you should try Vittoria Rubino Pro tires, the ladies I have sold those to have had no problems.
Last edited by: MLSimpson: Oct 8, 08 6:37
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I have a tire tool called a zip stick that is like a long tire iron that telescopes and it gives you more leverage. You only need one and it makes it much easier to get a tire off!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
A lot of it is technique.

Inflate the tube just a bit.
Mount one side of the bead onto the rim.