Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Anyone been successful at really getting lean?
Quote | Reply
I am 37 years old, and I've had two kids. I'm not overweight by any stretch. Currently I am 144 pounds at 5'9". Ideally, I would really like to be about 133. HOW can I do this? I feel like I really eat right. I can only fit in about an hour of training per day, as I work full time as an attorney and have a 2 girls under the age of 6. Right now my weeks look like:

Sunday: 30 minute swim, 1 hour run
Monday: OFF
Tuesday: 6-8 mile run
Wednesay: Spinervals DVD for about 45-50 minutes
Thursday: 4-5 mile run
Friday: OFF
Saturday: 2 hour Spinervals DVD

Even when the weather gets nice, I am only able to get outside on my bike on the weekends. I cannot fit in a swim during the week, no way around it. But, I am a swimmer since age 6 so the swim doesn't concern me too much. I'm only doing Sprint Tris this summer and a half or full marathon in October.

I would say I take in about 1200-1500 calories per day. The only way I can really lose weight, no matter how I try, is to starve myself (like 900-1000 calories per day). I don't like that! :)

Anyone have any words of wisdom, or am I just stuck with a tiny bit of flab on my belly and back? My legs look very thin, so do my arms. Just frustrated!
Last edited by: uptown423: Apr 3, 12 7:24
Quote Reply
Re: Anyone been successful at really getting lean? [uptown423] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
uptown423 wrote:

I would say I take in about 1200-1500 calories per day. The only way I can really lose weight, no matter how I try, is to starve myself (like 900-1000 calories per day). I don't like that! :)

There is your answer. More exercise will release endorphins that would make the calorie reduction more tolerable. Race weight is difficult and why most people outside of professional athletes don't sacrifice enough family and work time to achieve it.

DFL > DNF > DNS
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply