Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Aero position/saddle/pelvic bone question
Quote | Reply
I am new to my tri bike, and am currently testing out saddles. The saddle that came with my bike was so uncomfortable I couldn't ride any distance without wiggling around in my saddle. I just tested the JOF 55 and am now trying the Cobb Max. I just don't understand what part of my body should be supporting my weight in aero position.

The JOF 55 saddle left my soft tissues feeling just fine, but my pelvic arch was sore for days after a long ride. Is this something that takes time to build up endurance for, or is this unnecessary pain?

Should my weight be mostly on my pelvic arch, or how is it possible that it is on my sit bones (when I bend forward, they seem to fly up into the air off the saddle)?
Quote Reply
Re: Aero position/saddle/pelvic bone question [switchnd] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Soft tissue pain was utterly intolerable for me, but bone pain is something I get used to.

After riding Adamo and Cobb in the last few years, my next experiment is with the Dash saddle. As their fit is highly individual, I wish you luck!

DFL > DNF > DNS
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
where you sit is up to what is comfortable for you. I ride an adamo and it's my sit bones that are on the front of the saddle. It's almost as if my sit bones are pushing back into the front edge of the saddle. This takes some getting used to. Others like to sit further back and use the padding of the seat more.

Most saddles take time to adjust too. If you are putting pressure on a bony part of your body it will hurt (just like when you rode for the first time & the second time your crotch bones were really sensitive). After you ride sit on an ice pack for 15-20 minutes. It helps for the next time your ride. You'll eventually adapt and the bone 'bruising' feeling will be gone. Good luck.
Quote Reply