Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Speedwork/tapering for 5k cross country team
Quote | Reply
As a cross country coach, I'm running out of ideas to "jazz up" speedwork days. We do 6x800m, 12+x400m, 4-3-2-1 ladders, fartleks, etc. Does anyone have any favorite workouts that are guaranteed to increase speed?

Also, as far as tapering goes, we simply take an easier day of about 2 miles of fartleks before Districts (we have an easy district so it's a cakewalk), a couple of easy days before regionals (6 laps of fartlek on our grass track the day before), and about three easier days before states. The day before states simply consists of a slow jog through the course.

Does anyone have any other suggestions for tapering? My A group is running 30-38 miles per week, and my B group is running 25-32 miles.

I'd love some advice. We seem to do great locally, and I want to take the team to the next level and finally do something at the State level.
Quote Reply
Re: Speedwork/tapering for 5k cross country team [whyshave] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Indian Runs are a great way to build up some speed and have a good time doing it. The workout should be done on your Cross Country course. Since you have two groups with differnt abilities, start them in those groups. After your standard warm up, have the groups run the course at an up-tempo pace in a single file line. As they run the person at the back of the line must increase their pace and make a pass of the entire group and settle in as the leader controlling the pace. The person now at the back of the line must make the pass and settle in as leader. Repeat for as long as you want the workout to last. This workout gets in everything your looking for and can be a fun workout.

Hope this helps.

Robert Flanigan

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply