Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Speedo Racing; if it's wrong, why does it feel so right?
Quote | Reply
Alright, I need some opinions on something.

I'm relatively "young" in the sport; I've been doing it for about 6 years, but I'm still pretty young and hadn't even been born yet when the sport was invented and getting off the ground. So, I really missed my opportunity to jump on the speedo-racing bandwagon, which is a shame. By the time I got into the sport, it was all tri-suits and two piece singlets.

But I ask you... why NOT race in a speedo? Is there some kind of serious performance disadvantage? Or are you all just too scared to see my massive and manly (and extremely un-tanned) thighs?

Why NOT start a speedo resurgence in the sport? If you need any further inspiration, lets look at our 2005 World Champion; Faris, you burritto-loving fool, you are an inspiration to me and the rest of our generation.

Re: Speedo Racing; if it's wrong, why does it feel so right? [IKnowEverything] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Other than modesty, I would say that tri shorts can help avoid some potentially gnarly chaffing.
Quote Reply
Re: Speedo Racing; if it's wrong, why does it feel so right? [IKnowEverything] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Have you tried running more than 5k in a speedo? If your legs are as massive as you say, try it and you'll know why. The chafe from hell!

Formerly DrD
Quote Reply
Re: Speedo Racing; if it's wrong, why does it feel so right? [TeamBarenaked] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
HELL YEAH!!

That picture is awesome.

And for the record, last winter I did a 5k run/12mi bike/5k run duathlon in a Speedo. Except for the fact it was 45 degrees out, it was glorious. My performance was lackluster, but I guess I'm wondering if it was the speedo, or the fact that I was 20 lbs heavier than I am right now.

I think chafing is simply nature's way of saying, "you looked so good it hurt".