Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

tri bike or road bike
Quote | Reply
I am fairly new to the whole tri scene. I only participate in sprint triathlons and on rare occasions an olympic due to back issues with running long distances. Should I configure my current super six with aero bars and a good set of race wheels or spend the money on a tri specific bike. Everything I have read seems to state that I would not see the advantages of a tri bike on sprint tris vs. longer distance tris.

Lastly, any recommendations on a quality set of race wheels, hed, reynolds, zipp etc? Thanks for any feedback.
Quote Reply
Re: tri bike or road bike [wdowe] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
Everything I have read seems to state that I would not see the advantages of a tri bike on sprint tris vs. longer distance tris

that isn't at all correct.

wind resistance exists at any distance.

Kat Hunter reports on the San Dimas Stage Race from inside the GC winning team
Aeroweenie.com -Compendium of Aero Data and Knowledge
Freelance sports & outdoors writer Kathryn Hunter
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
How important is it to you to go as fast as possible on these tris? If you're mostly concerned with improving your PR, sticking with the road bike is fine. If you want to get as high up the rankings as you can, a tri bike will get you higher than a road bike... but if you have back issues on the run, I'd be hesitant to suggest hunching over in the aero position.

Aerodynamics are for people who can't build engines. -Enzo Ferrari
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If you have enough money to consider race wheels like Zipp, i'd recommend that you get a tri bike first. You would stand to gain more time from a tri bike than a set of wheels.

Paul..
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply