Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

tri bike for bad back/ more upright
Quote | Reply
I can find lots of ideas for a "relaxed" road bike- cervelo, felt and specialized all have well promoted offerings and it seems high performance and comfort are readily available.

No manufacturer seem to promote one of their tri bike models as particularly suitable for an older (55) athlete, less flexible, wants more comfort. Probably not ever doing iron distance, too many hip and leg problems from broken leg in 2007 but can do 5 hour rides w no problem.

I've been riding a Valdora aluminum frame for 4-5 years, looking for an upgrade sometime this fall or early 09.

Ideas? Don't say "custom". I looked at ideas for road bike with clip on bars but at the time nothing seemed to fit as well as the Valdora.

don't just do something..... sit there
Quote Reply
Re: tri bike for bad back/ more upright [sp in az] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Even though I don't own one; I've read over and over about how comfy the Kuota K-factor seems to be for people needing a taller head tube and a less aggressive seat tube angle. Do a search on ST and see for your self. Also consider a QR Ty-phoon, although more money it also has a nice tall head tube and more slack STA.

Hope this helps.
Coop

Honor, courage and commitment!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Titan Flex.

I used to have a Softride. Nice bike.

Matt Amman
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I use a Cervelo Soloist Carbon that has been set up as a tri bike. It's not as aero as a P2C or P3C, but I have chronic back problems and it gets me as aero as I can get. It's a very comfortable ride.

Jeff
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
+1 for TitanFlex. I have a Transition frame and love it.

Formerly DrD
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Never did a triathlon, but I am 53 ;-)

I have the Cervelo RS which is a very comfortable ride. I don't know if it can be set up for triathlon, I imagine it can.