Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

tooth root fracture, tooth implants, and ironman?
Quote | Reply
I have a fractured upper front tooth root under a cap. Was told I need to get a tooth implant. I guess the concern is a possible infection turning into a tooth abscess from within the fracture.

So I really don't want an implant($3000.00 and insurance covering little of it) but don't want to risk hurting ironman 5 months away if I wait. About 11 years ago I got a bad tooth abscess that covered all three of my root canal teeth and it took me out of doing a half ironman. Surgery was the following day... a lot of drilling. Didn't need pain killers after the surgery because the pain leading up to it was considerable.

What are your thoughts as far as waiting or should I just pay it get it over with? I have 2 baby teeth I have been told for 15 years I should get implants for... I am sure eventually I will... but I have held out 15 years.
Last edited by: woof: Jun 10, 15 20:49
Quote Reply
Re: tooth root fracture, tooth implants, and ironman? [woof] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If you are in good health I would do it. I have had two done for the same reason. The worst part is the tooth extraction after that no big deal at all, I takes a few months for the jaw bone to grow around the anchore but after that no problem. Plan B to leave it in there with the possibility of a bridge someday and the cost and no guarantees I went implants. The front tooth is capped so you would even notice the new one is fake.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
woof wrote:
I have a fractured upper front tooth root under a cap. Was told I need to get a tooth implant. I guess the concern is a possible infection turning into a tooth abscess from within the fracture.