Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

ouch!
Quote | Reply
Sorry this is a bit boring. I am new to distance running and currently training for my first marathon in april (aged 33).

Last weekend on my 16 mile run (longest yet) my knee decided enough was enough and started to hurt slowing me up but not stopping me. Since then I have been walking like an old man. The knee is slightly swollen, there is a platella tap, and tenderness over the lateral border of the joint. It is also painful going up or downstairs and if i extend the knee when sitting.

Is this serious. will i have to stop training for a prolonged period. Can anyone tell what is going on?

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: ouch! [ju] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Could be chondromalacia. Check out http://veggie.org/.../#signs-and-symptoms.

I had it a couple of years ago, trained through it, and ended up not running for over 6 months. I would suggest you back off for a week, then start back easy, and end your runs as soon as it starts to hurt.

The other big thing I did was change the make/mode of my shoes. Check out the Runners World web site for information on what type of shoe you should be running in. Then bring your old shoes in to a GOOD running store, tell them your problems, and see what they suggest.

Take care of it now, rest the knee, and you will hopefully be good to go for your Marathon.

Good Luck!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Lot of things could be wrong... but, for some reason I don't believe this just showed up... you probably had some symptoms simular to this problem but shrugged them off and continued. If not, then you definitely went too far.