Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

new to tri forward - impressions, seeking feedback, and IMMOO
Quote | Reply
i have a question regarding road vs tri position. i am new to the forward position - i am trying it in an effort to maintain a PC style position and be lower in front. but really the PC angle is moot because the tri-forward position itself is essentially doing the same thing in origin, i guess, what with preservation of hip angle and all that. i am sure the position i am in ( tri-forward) is a good one, i have studied the concepts and myself very carefully. it is on a road bike but the bike has a suitably low head tube, and i have set the front end correctly and all that - - there are some handling issues but i am reasonably certain i can differentiate handling from position in my evaluations thus far. let us, please, just say for the sake of argument that the position is good and is the point of discussion.

so far, i do not like it. actually i like it fine for flatland motoring, but over terrain changes and distance i find it limiting. particularly uphill. i am wondering - -is it just a matter of getting used to it ? or, is the position really better suited for flatter and shorter efforts. my only real goal is MOO, and MOO is very hilly with many fast terrain transitions a lot of turns and 112 miles long. the other day i went out and rode around similar terrain and i wished i was back in my slam position more often than not - mostly related to the terrain as it rolled and pitched up and down over short hills as it is wont to do here in wisconsin. i am fairly certain that on roads that were more evenly graded either up/down/flat i would enjoy the tri-forward position more.