Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
medial meniscus tear
Quote | Reply
Ok so Ive read about other people's tears and Ive decided every case is different. A lot of it depends on how healthy your knees are to begin with. So here is my story. Ive been racing for over 20 years Im 47. Ive never had an injury thats taken me out for any length of time. This year while racing Lake Placid I tore my hamstring on my left leg it was low - close to the back of my knee and healed quite well on its own. Now here it is November and Im preparing for AR Worlds in Costa Rica. A 9 day adventure race. I headed out for what should have been a straight forward hike last weekend and I slipped and fell on some wet rocks and hurt my knee. It twisted in when I slipped. It was a slick day with rain and a lot of rocks and patchy ice. I fell 2 or 3 more times on the rocks and ice. It seemed the more careful I was the worse it went. Anyway the knee started clicking and felt weird and hurt. We finished the hike out even running on the smoother stuff at the end just to get done since it was cold and rainy and we were ready to be done. On the drive home it swelled up like crazy and the pain got worse. By the time I got home and went to bed it was aching so much and it hurt a lot to bend it.
I had an MRI done on Tuesday and it shows an Oblique tear in the medial meniscus with a partially detached displaced fragment extending into the inferomedial gutter.
MCL sprain
moderate joint effusion with periarticular edema
edema surrounding both retinaculum without evidence of a tear
lobulated cyct deep to the pes anserine tendons suggestive of bursitis.
It also says the fat pads are intact and all the tendons are intact.
Im quite sure the edma references are because the injury was fresh. Yesterday I had a cortisone injection with some fluid drained out. Only 8cc's it was clear.