Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

hrm
Quote | Reply
hello all:

i realize that there are a bunch of previous posts on hrm's. and i think i've read them all. but, it seems that the discussions are always between polar and timex... does anybody use the nike hrm's?
for example the triax c8?

i am just getting into tracking my hr during my training and imagine i would like to stay pretty basic with features.
i have a seperate computer for my bike.

lastly, not the most critical, but the nike looks/feels much better and the price is good.

silly question: do all hrm's use a chest strap? is this because of accuracy? is it not possible for the watch to read the pulse from your wrist?! do people swim with their hrm?

any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
thank you.
marc
Last edited by: batschelet: Mar 2, 04 4:56
Quote Reply
Re: nike hrm? [batschelet] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I used to use the old hrm Triax 100 but have switched to Polar.

The nike might look/feel better but that's all it is... look and feel. I find the quality of heart rate measurement on my cheapo Polar A3 is better and more consistent than on the Nike. I've had nothing but problems with Nike in terms of chest strap battery life (about 25% or less of Nike's claimed batter length) and reliable/consistent readings.

Unless they've improved their hrms with the new series I'd spend my money on a Polar.
Quote Reply
Re: nike hrm? [johnboy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
[reply]Unless they've improved their hrms with the new series I'd spend my money on a Polar.[/reply]

thanks johnboy.
the few comments/reviews i have found about the nike hrms often mention that the new series are much improved... so i wonder.
some issues i have with the polar:
- if i understand correctly it is a pain in the booty to change the battery. need to send it in to polar. that's crazy!
- doesn't seem that durable/scratch resistant.