Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

how to improve 5K TTs?
Quote | Reply
I've qualified for the Florida Senior Games in the 5K and 10K time trial events, but I'm really weak in the 5K.

Just did one this morning and my time really left me disappointed. Based on how I do in longer events I really ought to be better than I am.

Can anyone point me to a good training program to improve my 5K time?
Quote Reply
Re: how to improve 5K TTs? [TTV] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
More 3k, 5k, and 10k paced intervals?

10k paced intervals are my go-to for most anything. Do a few of those with some 400m repeats at 3k speed tacked on to the end and ready to rock the 5k.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm new to the Senior Olympics as weill and qualified f(by the skin of my teeth) for the National event in Minneapolis next summer. My meager experience taught me that a very thorough warmup is really important since the race is so short. That can be compromised if one is waiting in some kind of a line for the start. It's nice if your warmup area is adjacent to the start.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
A lot of ~4 min vo2 Max intervals.
Quote Reply
Re: how to improve 5K TTs? [jajichan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
jajichan wrote:

10k paced intervals are my go-to for most anything. Do a few of those with some 400m repeats at 3k speed tacked on to the end and ready to rock the 5k.

+1.

I'd add some regular overspeed work, such as strides/wind sprints and hill sprints. A lot of people who are proficient in longer distances (sheepishly raises hand...) find that they develop a gait that is less amenable to the short stuff (often called "sitting in the bucket"). Overspeed work helps correct this.

Fartlek type runs aren't a terrible idea either. 8-10k at tempo or half marathon pace with a few 400m reps at 5k pace should get you used to holding the speed when you are tired without killing you for the next workout.
Quote Reply