Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

frame materials differences...help please!!
Quote | Reply
I am just beginning a search for a road bike (currently have a P2K), and need to do some research, including:

- differences in steel vs. different types of steel (853 vs. R851, for example...if this is an example!!)
- aluminum vs different types of aluminum
- differences in steel vs. alumninum

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!!
Quote Reply
Re: frame materials differences...help please!! [mjpwooo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
R853 vs. R851? Not much difference, IIRC, but I'm not sure I've ever seen a bike of R851. Now if you're talking 531 vs. 853, then you've got a decent jump in strength to weight ratio and stiffness with the 800-series.

7000-series Al is slightly stiffer and has a slightly higher strength to weight ratio over 6000-series.

Aluminum is generally stiffer than steel and transmits more "road" to your hands and butt, so carbon forks and seat-posts are way nice to have with aluminum frames. An R853 bike is very nearly as stiff as a 6000-series frame, though, so at that point, it's kind of a wash. Steel frames are usually a tad heavier than aluminum frames, if you look at frames in the same general price range.

Both materials follow the same general quality curve. So, if you buy a $150 aluminum frame, you're getting a $150 aluminum frame and a $1500 steel frame is an odds on favorite to be a better frame. Although, in many cases, high quality steel frames will cost more than a high quality aluminum frame, since most of the former are hand-made in Europe (although those Italians and Dutchmen have branched out into aluminum now, as well).
Quote Reply
Re: frame materials differences...help please!! [Koz] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply