Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

drop style vs BullHorn
Quote | Reply
Hi, I'm new to triathlon and am currently shopping for a new bike. Since I dont have a big budget, I'm considering buying a Cervelo One or a quintana Roo Kilo. I'v notice on those two bikes and others that some have drop style handle bar and som other (most triathlon bikes) have Bullhorn type. What are the Pro's and Con's? You cant change gear while climbing with bullhorn, and what else? Why do people choose them? Feel free to comment my choice of bike and which I should take.

Thank's for your help.

Richard

"You're only young once, but you can be immature forever" - Larry Andersen
Quote Reply
Re: drop style vs BullHorn [rferron] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Many things to comment on here, so I'll try to hit on all of them.

First, you CAN shift while climbing on bullhorns, just use normal STI type levers (though cable routing can be a bit problematic). You can even shift climbing with shifters on the end of the aero-bars, just don't try to do it standing up.

Second, drop bars are a viable option with any normal road set-up, but become semi-useless in steep geometries (how steep also depends on how much drop you have between the saddle and the bars). What happens is that you can't get to the drops without hitting you forearms (quite painfully) on the bar tops. Bullhorns can provide a position very close to that of drops without having to contend with bar tops being in the way (better for flat courses). Also, if you opt for bullhorns that are relatively flat, giving a position cose to brake hoods on a road set-up.

As for which bike to take, my advice is to take each for a test ride, and see which is more comfortable for you.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Some are born to move the world to live their fantasies...

https://triomultisport.com/
http://www.mjolnircycles.com/
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply