Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

cycling sprint finish - out of saddle or stay on?
Quote | Reply
I did my first bike race a week ago. 6 laps (55kms total) with points on each lap. I was a newbie but known as a triathlete so i was put in C grade (we had a, b, c, d and e grades) After listening to the wisdoms of ST, despite being a small field of only 9, i made sure to stay reasonably close to the front, do my share when required, but dont cook myself pulling the train for extended periods. The first lap i sprinted a tad early and was nailed on the line by a freakin tire length. The other laps i took 2nd, 2nd, 4th (boxed in), 2nd and 1st. I took out the overall win and was super chuffed. I felt i was the strongest sprinter there but couldnt get my timing right.
However im not sure if im leaving speed on the table on the sprints to the line as well. In true tri fashion, i sit and hammer. It didnt feel right to get out of my seat. Is there a right way or wrong way for sprinting? Should i learn to sprint with my ass up in the air? The front end on my roadie only got a bit twitchy on my very first sprint- felt like mr bean with the speed wobbles, but the rest of the event i was planted on the front end better and felt ok as time went on. Does anyone else 'sit to sprint'?
Quote Reply
Re: cycling sprint finish - out of saddle or stay on? [coates_hbk] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Watch the finish of the TdF stage today and you have your answer
Quote Reply
Re: cycling sprint finish - out of saddle or stay on? [btmoney] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
thats what i figured - cav etc all sprinting out of the saddle....i guess its a skill to practice
Quote Reply
Re: cycling sprint finish - out of saddle or stay on? [coates_hbk] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Out of the saddle. Only Freds and track monsters sprint in the saddle.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Always out of the saddle. And in the drops unless you're Giuseppe Saronni.
Quote Reply