Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
all-around wheel upgrade advice
Quote | Reply
The $299 Powertap GS hub-based power meter sale is making me mull a wheel upgrade, but as a relative newbie I'm struggling to assess my options.

I have a 2013 Roubaix Sport Compact set up with Redshift dual-position seatpost and quick-release aerobars, fit nicely dialed in over several sessions with a good local fitter. The OEM wheels are the not-so-highly regarded Axis 1.0, a combination of a lower-end DT Swiss rim with a generic hub.

I'm at no risk of podiuming in the tris (so far two Olympics and a 70.3) I've done since I start this sport just over a year ago, so I care more about overall ride quality than raw speed. The biggest thing I'd like from new wheels is lively handling, which probably means a lighter wheel but perhaps a little less aero one. I ride along the Pacific with a ton of crosswinds, so something like a 30 is probably more appropriate than a 60 or 90. My impression is wider rims are pure upside from both a comfort and performance perspective, so that's definitely on the list, would be nice to run 23 or 25mm tires without them mushrooming out. Roads can be a bit rough around here, I've been riding GP4000s 23mm on the front and 25mm on the back, pretty happy with those but on my narrow rims get some serious mushroom profile going on. I doubt I'll upgrade to a full tri bike in the foreseeable future. I want one set of wheels for training and sporadic racing.

I've read a lot on here and elsewhere. I see that Flo 30s are popular, but they're a bit on the heavier side, maybe a bit harsher ride dynamics? What should be on my radar? Advice appreciated!
Last edited by: niccolo: Jul 7, 16 16:07
Quote Reply
Re: all-around wheel upgrade advice [niccolo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
niccolo wrote: