Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

#1 Training Tip for IMs
Quote | Reply
It's the the new year and my resolution has now taken effect: training (seriously) for IM Wisconsin. I'm wondering: what are the 1 or 2 top training tips you IM veterans would pass down to an IM virgin?

If it helps, here's a bit about my background... I'm 28, and as I said in a previous post, I've been training 10+ hours a week for the past 3-4 months (without rhyme or reason). I swam in high school. Ran XC and track in high school and college. Ran exclusively for 6 years after college (2:33 marathon pr). And dabbled a bit in road racing for a year in college when I had a stress factor. I did a few tris in the early 90s, but haven't done any since.

Thanks,

Matt

P.S. Thanks for all the DeSoto wetsuit advice.
Last edited by: mts: Jan 2, 03 6:00
Quote Reply
Re: #1 Training Tip for IMs [mts] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
with these credentials that are close to mine (raced elite in France, and 2h24'53'' marathon) I'd say from my own experience,

Tip1: no pressure, get there, have fun!!!!

that's the most important one (hopefuly I will understand it one day)

Tip2 work your nutrtition in training. go for bricks at race pace where you eat exactly what you are planning to eat in the race.

no good nutrition, no good race, or no finish

Tip3: running off the bike is a matter of strength.if you want to use your running ability, work on your bike, make sure you are strong there, don't overdo it, and run a lot of hills in training. running a marathon and running off the bike in an IM are very different...

check the site of Rich Strauss, www.cruciblefitness.com
he has lots of VERY GOOD tips.

good luck
Quote Reply
Re: #1 Training Tip for IMs [Francois] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks, Francois. Those are helpful. Did you do a lot of strength training (weights) during your running to triathlon transition?

Matt
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply