Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Wounded Vet Wheelchair Racer Can't Get Answer From IM Maryland or IM Headquarters
Quote | Reply
Hey everyone. I'm not new to triathlons but I am new to Slow Twitch and I'm new to Ironmans. I've got a problem and I'm hoping someone here might be able to help me out with it....In October of 2015 I registered for the 2016 IM Maryland. I'm a double leg amputee and so I race in the wheelchair category. At the time when I registered last year the race information page clearly stated that the race is wheelchair compatible (you might be surprised to know that wheelchair racers are only allowed to compete in 12 out of 34 70.3 races, and 7 out of 16 140.6 races).

As of a couple of months ago I noticed that the IM Maryland website had changed its info and that the race is now listed as wheelchair non-compliant. I reached out to the race's information email address and I got in touch with an employee named Sarah Genot. She said she would check with the race director and get back to me. It's been 36 days since I got in touch with her and despite having sent multiple follow-ups I haven't gotten a response from her let alone confirmation on whether or not I can participate in the race. A friend put me in touch with David Deschenes, Executive Director of the Ironman Foundation, but he hasn't been able to get me an answer either.

I'm really at a loss for what to do here. As I've explained to the IM contacts, I'm not trying to become a Paralympian or qualify for Kona. I just want to participate in Ironman races. I don't care if this race isn't up to international para-triathlete standards or anything like that. I'm fine going across grass and sand and jumping curbs if needed. Clearly, I've already invested the registration money into this race, but I've also bought plane tickets, lodging, race and training equipment, etc and I can't even get a response from IM.

What should I do?
Quote Reply